Meet Garvester
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR,
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT & POLICY STUDIES
Economic Research
  • Where are you from?

    New Brunswick, NJ

  • What is your educational background?

    I have a B.S. in finance from Hampton University as well as a Master of Divinity and a Master of Theology from the Princeton Theological Seminary.

  • When did you start at the Bank?

    2015

  • What do you do at the Bank?

    I lead activities that promote effective community development lending and investment programs and fair lending in the state of Indiana - particularly in low- and moderate-income communities. As such, this oftentimes entails utilizing our policy studies team’s research (as well as research from Banks across the system) on topics like affordable housing, small business access to credit, workforce development and Bank branch closures, etc. as a channel to inform and convene the relevant stakeholders to facilitate conversations and potential partnerships that will foster effective interventions.

  • In the course of my work, I maintain relationships locally and nationally with leaders from the Community Development Finance Institution (CDFI) community, community advocates, community and economic development organizations, not-for-profit service providers, policy thought leaders and financial institutions. Maintaining these relationships provides our team critical intelligence on topics affecting underserved individuals and communities, as well as ideas for future research, symposiums and conferences.

  • In working with financial institutions, alongside our regulatory partners at FDIC and the OCC, we plan and deliver technical assistance workshops on the Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) enacted by Congress in 1977. The delivery of CRA workshops provides me the opportunity to engage with the Bank’s examination and compliance staffs who deliver the presentations and address questions on implementing CRA.

  • Why do you like working here?

    Working for the Bank allows me to draw on my knowledge and experience in community development finance, as well as my theological studies.

  • "In many important ways, my work at the Bank is how I live out my vocation – economic justice for all."
  • Second, I enjoy working with my colleagues in CDPS on a daily basis and others from departments across the Bank on special projects. There are so many opportunities to learn from my colleagues who are willing to share their expertise when approached. Last, but not least, is the Bank’s culture where everyone strives for excellence while being professional and courteous.

  • What do you do in your free time?

    I am an avid cyclist with the goal of achieving a sub-five century (riding 100 miles in less than five hours) next year and cycling in 26 states over the next five years. In my free time, I volunteer at the Blackstone Bicycle Works working with South Side youth age 8 to 18 years teaching bike mechanic skills or just being present to discuss whatever’s on their mind. This is very gratifying.

  • What is your favorite quote or saying?

    "The time is always right to do what is right." — Martin Luther King Jr.
MORE TESTIMONIALS
}
Explore meaningful
careers
SEARCH JOBS