Academic Advisory Council

The purpose of the Academic Advisory Council is to promote communications between the Chicago Fed and representatives from the academic and business economics communities. The council meets twice a year to provide views on current policy issues to Chicago Fed President Austan Goolsbee and other senior officials of the Bank.

Council Communications Guidelines

External panelists are free to share information and opinions as desired and as permitted by their respective institutions. Participation by President Goolsbee and Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago (FRBC) staff will be governed by the rules of the FRBC and the communications guidelines of the Federal Open Market Committee’s Policies on External Communications of Committee Participants and of Federal Reserve Staff. Notably, Federal Reserve participants are prohibited from discussing confidential monetary policy, supervisory or other non-public information. Furthermore, the opinions they express are solely their own and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago or the Federal Reserve System.

The membership of the Academic Advisory Council is posted on the FRBC public website along with other standing FRBC advisory councils. The agenda and the FRBC staff presentations for each meeting are posted on this website; we encourage (but do not require) that external panelists making presentations allow them to be posted there or on their personal or business web pages. Outside of these public postings, the meetings will be governed by the Chatham House Rule; namely, unless otherwise specified, participants are free to use information they receive, but neither the identity nor affiliation of the speaker(s) may be revealed.

Council Members

Katharine Abraham
Director, Maryland Center for Economic Policy and Professor of Economics and Survey Methodology
University of Maryland

Alan Auerbach
Director, Robert D. Burch Center for Tax Policy and Public Finance and Robert D. Burch Professor of Economics and Law
University of California, Berkeley

Janice Eberly
James R. and Helen D. Russell Distinguished Professor of Finance, Kellogg School of Managment
Northwestern University

Martin Eichenbaum
Charles Moskos Professor of Economics
Northwestern University

Barry Eichengreen
George C. Pardee and Helen N. Pardee Professor of Economics and Political Science
University of California, Berkeley

Robert Gordon
Stanley G. Harris Professor of the Social Sciences
Northwestern University

Jan Hatzius
Chief Economist and Head of Global Economics and Markets Research
Goldman Sachs

Daniel Ivascyn
Group Chief Investment Officer

Anil K. Kashyap
Edward Eagle Brown Professor of Economics and Finance, Booth School of Business
University of Chicago

Karin Kimbrough
Chief Economist

Randall Kroszner
Norman R. Bobins Professor of Economics, Booth School of Business
University of Chicago

Monica Piazzesi
Joan Kenney Professor of Economics
Stanford University

Matthew Shapiro
Lawrence R. Klein Collegiate Professor of Economics
University of Michigan

Robert Shimer
Alvin H. Baum Professor in Economics
University of Chicago

Linda Tesar
Professor of Economics
University of Michigan

Having trouble accessing something on this page? Please send us an email and we will get back to you as quickly as we can.

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, 230 South LaSalle Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604-1413, USA. Tel. (312) 322-5322

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved.

Please review our Privacy Policy | Legal Notices