Regulatory Agencies
  • Print
  • Email

Federal Agencies

Federal Reserve System

The Federal Reserve, the central bank of the United States, provides the nation with a safe, flexible, and stable monetary and financial system. The Federal Reserve is responsible for supervising–monitoring, inspecting, and examining–certain financial institutions to ensure that they comply with rules and regulations, and that they operate in a safe and sound manner. The Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago Supervision and Regulation Department is responsible for supervising certain financial institutions in the Federal Reserve System's Seventh District. The District includes all or portions of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, and Wisconsin. 

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) ensures consumer financial products and services work for Americans whether consumers are applying for mortgages, choosing credit cards, or using other consumer financial products. 

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) is an independent agency created by Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the nation's financial system by insuring deposits, supervising state non-member banks and foreign branches of U.S. state member banks for safety and soundness and consumer protection, and managing receiverships.

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency

The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) charters, regulates and supervises all national banks and federal savings associations, as well as federal branches and agencies of foreign banks. The OCC is an independent bureau of the U.S. Department of the Treasury that works to ensure national banks and federal savings associations operate in a safe and sound manner, provide fair access to financial services, treat customers fairly and comply with applicable laws and regulations.

State Agencies

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional regulation regulates state-chartered banks and thrifts, corporate fiduciaries, real estate brokers and agents, appraisers, timeshare/land sales, mortgage bankers and brokers, leasing agents, check printers, pawnbrokers, and auctioneers in the state of Illinois.

Indiana Department of Financial Institutions

The Indiana Department of Financial Institutions regulates state-chartered commercial banks, trust companies, savings banks, building and loans associations, credit unions, pawnbrokers, money transmitters, industrial loan and investment companies, budget service companies, rental/purchase businesses, check cashers, and licensees under the Uniform Consumer Credit Code in the state of Indiana.

Iowa Division of Banking

The Iowa Division of Banking regulates state-chartered banks, bank holding companies, trust operations, regulated loan companies, industrial loan companies, debt management companies, mortgage bankers/brokers, delayed deposit services (payday lenders), and money transmitters in the state of Iowa.

Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services

The Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services regulates state-chartered banks, banks/savings banks authorized to exercise trust powers, business and industrial development companies, de novo banks, consumer financial service licensees, credit card licensees, motor vehicle installment seller licensees, motor vehicle sales finance licensees, regulatory loan licensees, sale of check licensees, active state-chartered credit unions, and mortgage licensees/registrants in the state of Michigan.

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions

The Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions regulates state-chartered banks, state-chartered credit unions, businesses engaging in various financial endeavors, such as adjustment service companies, currency exchanges, collection agencies, insurance premium finance companies, loan companies, sales finance companies, sellers of checks, mortgage banking, savings and loans, and savings banks in the state of Wisconsin.

Other Regulatory Agencies

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission regulates broker-dealer firms; registered self-regulatory organizations (SROs), which include the stock exchanges and the NASD, municipal securities rulemaking board (MSRB) and clearing agencies (SROs that help facilitate trade settlement); transfer agents (parties that maintain records of stock and bond owners); and securities information processors. Administers the securities laws affecting investment companies and investment advisors. 

Commodity Futures Trading Commission

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission regulates futures commission merchants; commodity pool operators; commodity trading advisors; introducing brokers, contract markets, derivatives transaction execution facilities, derivative clearing organizations and the National Futures Association (NFA). Contract markets and the NFA are SROs. Jurisdiction includes futures and options and Commodity Futures Trading Commission registrants may or may not be broker/dealers.

National Futures Association

Find links to regulatory information about derivatives, securities and brokerage. 

Illinois Securities Department

The Illinois Securities Department regulates salespersons/agents; investment advisors; investment advisor representatives; business brokers; mutual funds; loan brokers; business opportunities; and unit investment trusts (a specialized investment company that purchases a fixed portfolio of stocks, bonds or other securities).

Indiana Securities Division

The Indiana Securities Division regulates registered mortgage loan brokers; investment advisors; investment advisor representatives; franchises; collection agencies; and continuing care facilities.

Iowa Insurance Division

The Iowa Insurance Division regulates insurance-related entities; regulated benefit plans, securities & investments, and other non-insurance regulated entities. 

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs regulates investment advisers; securities broker/dealers; finders; and agents.

Wisconsin Division of Securities

The Wisconsin Division of Securities regulates broker-dealers, securities agents, investment advisers, and investment adviser representatives. 

Having trouble accessing something on this page? Please send us an email and we will get back to you as quickly as we can.

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, 230 South LaSalle Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604-1413, USA. Tel. (312) 322-5322

Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved.

Please review our Privacy Policy | Legal Notices