Chicago Fed Presidents, 1914 - Present

Information about the Bank's presidents from our earliest days to present. Initially called governor, the title of our chief executive officer was changed to president in 1936.



James B McDougal

James B. McDougal

First Governor
1914 – 1934 
George J Schaller

George J. Schaller

Second President
1934 – 1941
Clifford S. Young

Clifford S. Young

Third President
1941 – 1956
Carl E. Allen

Carl E. Allen

Fourth President
1956 – 1961
Charles J Scanlon

Charles J. Scanlon

Fifth President
1962 – 1970
Robert P. Mayo

Robert P. Mayo

Sixth President
1970 – 1981
Silas Keehn

Silas Keehn

Seventh President
1981 – 1994
Michael H. Moskow

Michael H. Moskow

Eighth President
1994 – 2007
Charles L. Evans

Charles L. Evans

Ninth President
2007 – Present
Contact Us Management
Federal Reserve Centennial logo
In the Federal Reserve System
Having trouble accessing something on this page? Please send us an email and we will get back to you as quickly as we can.

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, 230 South LaSalle Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604-1413, USA. Tel. (312) 322-5322

Copyright © 2022. All rights reserved.

Please review our Privacy Policy | Legal Notices